Competitions, Participating, Rules

About the Hopman Cup

The Hopman Cup, a team competition of the ITF, is an annual international eight-team indoor mixed tournament that was first inaugurated in 1989. It is named in honour of Harry Hopman, one of Australia’s greatest tennis players and coaches. Hopman captained Australia to a total of 16 Davis Cup titles between 1939 and 1967. As a player, Hopman won 7 Grand Slam doubles and several mixed doubles titles.

His fame spread to the United States, where he set up his international tennis coaching school. Organizers announced earlier this year that the tournament would remain in Western Australian for the next 5 years. The state government prolonged its contract with the ITF to host the competition at Perth Arena until 2022.

Venue and participants

The Hopman Cup is staged at the beginning of every year in Perth, Australia. The competition celebrated its 25th year by relocating to the modern Perth Arena in 2013.

Since its inception, the competition has attracted an array of big-game players including John McEnroe, Yannick Noah, Ivan Lendl, Mats Wilander, Boris Becker, Pat Cash, Marat Safin, Lleyton Hewitt, Novak Djokovic, Roger Federer, Steffi Graf, Monica Seles, Arantxa Sanchez Vicario, Martina Hingis, Justine Henin, Lindsay Davenport, Serena Williams and Kim Clijsters. The presence of some of the best players in the world has long been the tournament’s selling point.


The competition’s structure

There is no practical importance attached to the competition — no ranking points at state and no effect on the Davis Cup. Players only compete for the title. This, however, has not stopped the tournament from attracting bigger names. The tournament is structured on the round-robin format of 8 teams in 2 pools. Every tie begins with the women’s singles, followed by the men’s singles, and then the mixed doubles. The leading team in each pool qualifies for the final. The trophies awarded in 2014 and 2015 were valued at $26,000, and did use half an ounce of a solid pink diamond.


The Tournament’s Attendance

The Hopman Cup has attracted huge crowds since it was first founded in 1989. The biggest crowd in the competition’s history was witnessed at a 2016 competition when 13,785 came out to cheer on Switzerland and Germany. Most of the fans were from the host nation. This is not surprising given where the tournament is held. Australia has appeared in every Hopman Cup since its inception back in 1989. No fewer than 20 world No. 1s, including John McEnroe, Boris Becker, Serena Williams and Steffi Graf have used the tournament as a winter-warmer before the Australian Open kicks off.


The winners

The Hopman Cup’s total prize money is $1 million, shared among the men and women participants. The USA has had more success than any other nation. Players from the United States have taken the title a record six times, and were runners-up five times.

Spain is second on this list with a total of four titles and two runner-up spots. Germany was the first country to win the Hopman Cup two times when they followed up their 1993 trophy with another success in 1995. Despite the competition attracting big names, many countries are yet to win the Hopman Cup. They include Great Britain, Serbia and Argentina.

If you are a professional tennis player and want to participate in the next Hopman Cup, you should visit the official website for more information. If you just want to be aware of results and schedule of the cup, you can find information by visiting Bleachreport.

Hopman Cup 2017 Teams:

  • France: Kristina Mladenovic and Richard Gasquet
  • Germany: Andrea Petkovic and Alexander Zverev
  • Great Britain: Heather Watson and Dan Evans
  • Switzerland: Belinda Bencic and Roger Federer
  • Australia: Daria Gavrilova and Nick Kyrgios
  • Czech Republic: Lucie Hradecka, and Adam Pavlasek
  • Spain: Lara Arruabarrena and Feliciano Lopez
  • United States of America: Coco Vandeweghe and Jack Sock
Participating, Rules

History of Hopman Cup

Along with the best internationally acknowledged game tournaments is the Hopman cup which is usually done annually at Perth, Western Australia during the last week of December or on January. The tournament is a combination of male and female teams from different countries, proving their physical power and energy in the field of tennis. The game was founded in the year 1989 and was named after Harry Hopman –a great Australian tennis player who had bagged 16 Davis cup for the country, getting the grand slam title for mixed doubles and doubles for seven times.

Hopman has never attended each game without his brilliant plans for the play and did not allow his rivals get the cup from Australia. That is the reason why many tennis players from 1950’s up to the present time consider his exceptionally clever and impressive ideas towards the game. Hopman has not only claimed his fame in the country but also in the United States of America and all over the world.

In the year 2005 and 2006, the elite level was first introduced. At this point, the players were allowed to challenge point-ending line calls and through the use of a Hawk-Eye technology, the calls are abruptly reviewed.

In the year 2008, which was the 20th Hopman cup, was supposed to be played at Burswood Dome for the last time. However, the same place handled four more yearly tournaments because at that time, Perth Arena was still under construction. Hence, the silver anniversary of the Hopman tornament happened in the year 2013 at the Arena.

The tournament was first aired by the Seven Network until the year 1994. In the year 1995 the Australian Broadcasting Corporation continued airing until 2010. It was then 2011 when the Network Ten got it but ended on 2013 for no clear reason.

In the history of Hopman cup, the best players to be remembered are Ivan Lendi, Justin Henin, John McEnroe, Steffi Graf, Arantca Vicario, Martina Hingis. Lindsay Davenport, Kim Clijters, Justine Henin, Boris Becker, Mats Wilander, Lleyton Hewitt, Pat Cast, Yannick Noah, Monica Seles, Boris Beckker and Novak Djokovic.