The Tournament’s Attendance

The Hopman Cup has attracted huge crowds since it was first founded in 1989. The biggest crowd in the competition’s history was witnessed at a 2016 competition when 13,785 came out to cheer on Switzerland and Germany. Most of the fans were from the host nation. This is not surprising given where the tournament is held. Australia has appeared in every Hopman Cup since its inception back in 1989. No fewer than 20 world No. 1s, including John McEnroe, Boris Becker, Serena Williams and Steffi Graf have used the tournament as a winter-warmer before the Australian Open kicks off.


The winners

The Hopman Cup’s total prize money is $1 million, shared among the men and women participants. The USA has had more success than any other nation. Players from the United States have taken the title a record six times, and were runners-up five times.

Spain is second on this list with a total of four titles and two runner-up spots. Germany was the first country to win the Hopman Cup two times when they followed up their 1993 trophy with another success in 1995. Despite the competition attracting big names, many countries are yet to win the Hopman Cup. They include Great Britain, Serbia and Argentina.

If you are a professional tennis player and want to participate in the next Hopman Cup, you should visit the official website for more information. If you just want to be aware of results and schedule of the cup, you can find information by visiting Bleachreport.

Hopman Cup 2017 Teams:

  • France: Kristina Mladenovic and Richard Gasquet
  • Germany: Andrea Petkovic and Alexander Zverev
  • Great Britain: Heather Watson and Dan Evans
  • Switzerland: Belinda Bencic and Roger Federer
  • Australia: Daria Gavrilova and Nick Kyrgios
  • Czech Republic: Lucie Hradecka, and Adam Pavlasek
  • Spain: Lara Arruabarrena and Feliciano Lopez
  • United States of America: Coco Vandeweghe and Jack Sock

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *